Electric cooperative aid tops $1.1 million

MONROE — Sixty area students are sharing $156,000 in scholarships awarded by the Walton Electric Trust of customer-owned Walton EMC.



Out of more than 250 applicants, 32 students are receiving $4,000 each to help fund post-secondary education at a college or vocational-technical school. Another 28 are the recipients of runner-up scholarships of $1,000 each. 

The Trust has awarded more than 500 scholarships worth over $1.1 million since the program began in 2009. The scholarships are funded by unclaimed refunds to former Walton EMC customer-owners. After all efforts are exhausted to find the rightful owners, the money goes into an endowment provided for by Georgia law.

Listed by school, students receiving a $4,000 Walton Trust Scholarship are:

Apalachee – Ashley Blackburn
Brookwood – Connor Bowler, David Dutton, Jenna Range, Hannah Taylor
George Walton Academy – Kaitlyn Rutledge, Casey Trammell
Gwinnett School of Mathematics and Science – Justice Bigot
Home School – Amber Burgess (Snellville), Anna Higgins (Oxford), Katerina Higgins (Oxford), Emily Sanders (Monroe)
Loganville Christian Academy – Myla Roberts
Monroe Area – David Colin Hendricks, Tyler Smedley
Morgan County – Grant Cofer
Nathanael Greene Academy – Joseph Crumbley
North Oconee – Laura Fletcher, Mason Sale
Oconee County – Will Worthington
Parkview – Grace Buckley, Emily Sandy
Providence Christian Academy – Hayden Grant
Shiloh – Tyra Quintanilla
Social Circle – Austin Malcom, Brittany Townsend
Walnut Grove – Karleigh Jane Castellow, Ansley Myers, Emily Myers, Haylee Peters, Trevor Queen, Duncan Watts
Westminster Christian Academy – Lauren McCollough 

Students from across Walton EMC’s 10-county service area receiving a $4,000 Walton Trust Scholarship are, front row, left to right: Anna Higgins, Home School;Karleigh Jane Castellow, Walnut Grove High; Haylee Peters, Walnut Grove High;Ansley Myers, Walnut Grove High; Emily Myers, Walnut Grove High; TyraQuintanilla, Shiloh High; Brittany Townsend, Social Circle High; KaitlynRutledge, George Walton Academy; Lauren McCollough, WestminsterChristian Academy; Katerina Higgins, Home School; middle row, Emily Sandy,Parkview High; Grace Buckley, Parkview High; Ashley Blackburn, Apalachee High; Jenna Range, Brookwood High; Hannah Taylor, Brookwood High; Amber Burgess, Scholars Guild Academy; Will Worthington, Oconee County High; TylerSmedley, Monroe Area High; Emily Sanders, Heritage Classical Study Center;back row, Duncan Watts, Walnut Grove High; Trevor Queen, Walnut Grove High;David Colin Hendricks, Monroe Area High; Austin Malcom, Social Circle High; Mason Sale, North Oconee High; Connor Bowler, Brookwood High; David Dutton, Brookwood High; Justice Bigot, Gwinnett School of Mathematics and Science.

Not pictured: Grant Cofer, Morgan County High; Hayden Grant, Providence Christian Academy; Joseph Crumbley, Nathanael Greene Academy; Laura Fletcher, North Oconee High; Myla Roberts, Loganville Christian Academy.