April 25, 2017 -  At its April meeting, the Gwinnett County Board of Education named two principals for the coming school year. Shane Orr, an associate principal at Central Gwinnett High School, has been named the new principal at the Lawrenceville school following the retirement of the current principal, Maryanne Grimes. Kara Dutton, the principal of Peachtree Elementary School will transfer to become the principal of Jackson Elementary as the current principal, Dr. Ruth Markham, retires.

Shane OrrShane Orr, Principal of Central Gwinnett High School

GCPS Employment:
2014-Present Associate Principal, Central Gwinnett 
High School
2011-2014 Assistant Principal, Grayson High School
2008-2011 Assistant Principal, GIVE Center East
2005-2008 Teacher/Dept. Chair, GIVE Center East
2000-2005 Teacher, Dacula High School

Mr. Orr will assume the leadership position at Central Gwinnett High effective June 1. He has served as an associate principal at the school since 2014 and is a 2014 graduate of the Aspiring Principal Program. Mr. Orr earned a Bachelor’s degree in Secondary Education from The University of Georgia and a Master’s degree in Secondary Education from Piedmont College.



Kara DuttonKara Dutton, Principal of Jackson Elementary School

Kara Dutton, who currently serves as principal of Peachtree Elementary School, has been named as the new principal at Jackson Elementary School effective July 3. She will assume the position following the retirement of Jackson 
Elementary’s current principal, Dr. Ruth Markham. This appointment is a homecoming of sorts for Mrs. Dutton who served as an assistant principal at Jackson from 2003 until her appointment as principal of Peachtree in January of 2014.

GCPS Employment:
2014- Present Principal, Peachtree Elementary
2003-Dec. 2013 Assistant Principal, Jackson Elementary
2001-2003 3rd-4th Grade Title I Support Teacher, Harris Elementary
1997-2001 1st Grade Teacher, Harris Elementary

Other Employment:
1995-1997 K-1 Teacher, Davidson Elementary, Charlotte Mecklenberg Schools (North Carolina)

Ms. Dutton will assume the principal role at Jackson Elementary as Dr. Ruth Markham retires. Ms. Dutton was a member of the Quality-Plus Leader Academy, Aspiring Principal Program, Cohort 2014.