Snellville leaders come together to celebrate 90 years Photo L - R : Front row:  Emmett Clower (Former Mayor), Jack Dillard (Former City Clerk) Bruce Garroway, Mayor Kelly Kautz, Barbara Bender, Judy Waters, Debbie Rich, Kurt Shultz. 2nd row: Warren Auld, Wayne Odum, Melvin Everson, Nelson Williams, Jr. Mike Staley, Jim Brooks (Former City Manager). 3rd row: Dave Emanuel, Diane Krause, Bobby Howard, Joe Anderson, Melissa Arnold (City Clerk),Tom Witts (Mayor Pro Tem), Mike Sabbagh. Not pictured is Chad Smith.

Snellville celebrated 90 years with Snellville leaders and lots of Jazz!

There has been a whole lot of celebrating going on in Snellville. The City of Snellville officially became 90 years old on August 20, 2013. On August 20, 1923, a charter was signed and Snellville, Ga became an official town. Two events were held to celebrate its rich history. 

Mark and Deb Petersen are ready for your delivery or take out order.A Committed Community Partners 
Franco’s Pizza celebrates 3 years

By Beth Volpert 

Franco’s has given away more than 120,000 gift certificates as reward incentives to local schools! 

Flying dough, warm, gooey cheese and homemade ingredients set Franco’s pizza apart from most pizzerias. What makes them rise to the top isn’t found just in the superior toppings, but in the constant commitment to their community. 

Photo courtesy of Wawro Photography

Lilburn Woman's Club Celebrates 40th Anniversary

By Patty Gabilondo
President, Lilburn Woman's Club

Members of the GFWC Lilburn Woman's Club (LWC) celebrate their 40th Anniversary being chartered under the Georgia Federation of Women's Clubs.

City of Snellville to celebrate 90 years 

By Beth Volpert 

More than ninety years ago, at a crossroads, a community was created. The British-born Snell and Sawyer families established homes and commerce. The late 1870’s brought the wood-built general stores built by the founding fathers that began a growing trend. Churches, doctors and eventually phone service followed.

lil ladiesclub 440
40th Anniversary

Lilburn Postmaster Jeffrey Keever and Mike Eubanks presented LWC President Patty Gabilondo and Cheryl Bauer with

The shoreline of Lake Lanier off Laurel Park in 2001 showing the top rows  of the old concrete grandstand of Looper Speedway. Special Photo

From out of Habersham it comes, stretching between the cracks and crevices of the North Georgia mountains like an uneven pane of mirrored glass, some twenty-six miles long and covering almost 47 miles of original riverbed, reflecting back the sky and hiding its precious secrets from all who try to pry.

 On June 23, 2013 Team Grayson won the 2013 USSSA 14U AAA Final Four Georgia State Championship by first winning the State Championship - Northeast Region tournament, which qualified the team for the Final Four State Championship tournament, where they went undefeated. Team Grayson is currently ranked by USSSA as the #1 team in Georgia and the #2 team in the Nation in 14U AAA (out of 962 teams), with an overall record of 26-3. Head Coach: Mike Knight Asst Coaches: Eddie Sims, Billy Ray and Russell Greenway. Players: (Front Row) Riley Knight, Hunter Burnett, Tyler McKelvey, Seth Ray, Nick Clarno, (Back Row) Matthew Greenway, Donald Perteet, Davis Ray, Connor Sims, Austin Nash, Akira Mitchell, Tyreese Johnson and Payton Shaddix.