Advertise With Us

AAPA Presents Scholarships and Awards at Annual Luncheon in Atlanta

AAPA Presents Scholarships and Awards at Annual Luncheon in Atlanta

Atlanta, GA, June 10, 2014 – The Atlanta Alumnae Panhellenic Association (AAPA) (, a community-based organization composed of alumnae from National Panhellenic Conference (NPC) member fraternities, held its annual Spring Scholarship Luncheon on May 3, 2014 at the Cherokee Town Club in Atlanta, Georgia.

Procession of Past AAPA Presidents

Since 1932, the AAPA has provided scholarships to women from the Atlanta area as part of its goal of supporting academic achievement among women. This year, the AAPA was pleased to present six scholarships totaling $7,000. The scholarships were awarded to two high school seniors, two collegians, and two alumnae based on academic and service-based accomplishments and outstanding character.

This year’s High School Scholarship winners received $1,000 each and were Madison Hill, of Parkview High School, and Madeline Miller, of The Westminster Schools. Hill will attend Stetson University in Florida and plans to major in political science, pre-law with a minor in business or history. Miller plans on attending the University of Georgia and studying business or finance.

Recipients of the AAPA Collegian Scholarship attend Georgia colleges and universities and are members of NPC sororities. This year’s winners, who will receive $1,000 each, were Erin Munger, a student at the University of Georgia and member of Gamma Phi Beta sorority, and Brandie Banner, a student at The Georgia Institute of Technology and member of Alpha Chi Omega sorority.
This year’s winner of the AAPA Alumnae Scholarship is Kathryn Kennedy Moore, a member of Alpha Phi, who will receive $1,500 to assist in her pursuit of a MBA at the Georgia Institute of Technology. The AAPA Luann Rhodes Scholarship was presented by Marge Reason, a member of Alpha Gamma Delta who endowed the scholarship, to Abby Nelson, a member of Alpha Omicron Pi and candidate for a Doctorate of Dental Medicine at the University of Alabama-Birmingham.

At the luncheon, AAPA also recognized women and one alumnae chapter who have contributed outstanding service in civic affairs, education, the arts, and the Greek system. The 2014 Panhellenic Woman of the Year Award winners were Jennie Miller Helderman (Kappa Kappa Gamma) and Catherine Rowland Liemohn (Zeta Tau Alpha). Lisa Simmons-Hall (Sigma Kappa) was honored as the Carolyn Hester Chapter Advisor of the Year. Alpha Delta Pi won Alumnae Chapter of the Year.

Other highlights of the AAPA Scholarship Luncheon included a silent auction to benefit the AAPA Sisters for Scholars Fund and the installation of AAPA’s 2014-2015 Executive Officer Board. Installed officers included President Connie Pope (Gamma Phi Beta), Vice-President Deirdre Hill (Alpha Chi Omega), Treasurer Rigby Duncan (Alpha Xi Delta), and Secretary Rebecca King (Chi Omega).

About Atlanta Panhellenic Alumnae Association:
Founded in 1927, the Atlanta Alumnae Panhellenic Association (AAPA) is a community-based organization affiliated with the National Panhellenic Conference (NPC). AAPA membership is composed of 21 representative alumnae from the 26 NPC member fraternities. For over 80 years, the purpose of the AAPA has been to inform fraternity women of current trends, promote the fraternity system, improve the Panhellenic image, and stimulate a continuing interest in Panhellenic affairs.