Advertise With Us

Delta Community announces 2015 scholarship winners

Delta Community announces 2015 scholarship winners
Credit Union Awards $20,000 in Scholarships to Five Students

Delta Community Credit Union (, Georgia’s largest credit union with $4.8 billion in assets and more than 317,000 members, announces the 2015 recipients of its annual scholarship program, which supports members in their quest for higher education.

Delta Community selected five students based on academic achievement, community service and submission of an essay on a topic selected by the Credit Union.

“Good career planning and ongoing educational development are critical to anyone’s long-term financial success,” said Matthew Shepherd, Delta Community’s chief operating officer. “We are proud to provide this Scholarship Program to help the families of our members better afford college. Each of these outstanding students shares Delta Community’s commitment to personal responsibility and community volunteerism. We wish them great success as they pursue their academic and professional goals.”

The following three students will each receive a $5,000 scholarship:

Janeen Thomas, a senior at Fayette County High School in Fayetteville, Georgia, plans to attend Yale University majoring in Neuroscience and Behavioral Biology in her pursuit of a career as a pediatric neurologist. Janeen is the Valedictorian of her class, a STAR Student, an AP Scholar of Distinction and a Georgia Governor’s Honors Program participant.

Matthew May is a senior at J.J. Pearce High School in Dallas, Texas. He plans to attend the University of Arkansas with the career goal of becoming a corporate or commercial pilot. Matthew is active in his community, serving as a board member of the Temple Emanu-El Youth Group and volunteering for the Ronald McDonald House and Habitat for Humanity.

Micayla Hersey is a rising sophomore at the University of West Georgia where she is majoring in Political Science (Pre-Law) with the goal of earning a PhD and working with a governmental nonprofit agency. Micayla participates in her school’s Honors College, which focuses on community service, academic achievement and research. In April, she earned the Lee Wash Award given by the League of Women Voters for outstanding involvement in community service.

The following two students will each receive $2,500 Scholarship Awards:

Ross Borthwick, of Burlington, Kentucky, is a senior at Randall K. Cooper High School. He will attend the University of Louisville and major in Biomedical Engineering with the goal of becoming a doctor. He is a Kentucky Governor’s Scholar, an AP Scholar and completed the Regional Youth Leadership Program.

Adriana Amyette, a senior at Archer High School in Lawrenceville, Georgia, plans to attend the Georgia Institute of Technology majoring in Computer Science. Adriana received the Certificate of Honor for Academic Achievement and was awarded an Academic Letter and a Certificate of Merit for academic excellence from the University of Georgia and the state of Georgia.

The scholarship awards are specifically designed to assist eligible members with their higher education expenses such as tuition, books, dormitory lodging and meal costs. For additional program details, visit In addition to the annual scholarship program, Delta Community offers Quarterlife, a complete financial program for young adults.

About Delta Community Credit Union
Delta Community Credit Union is a not-for-profit financial cooperative with a mission of providing consumers better service and value on the deposit, loan, investment and insurance products they use to manage their household expenses and save for the future. Delta Community was founded in 1940 and has become Georgia’s largest credit union with $4.8 billion in assets and 26 convenient branch locations. The Credit Union now welcomes residents of 11 metro Atlanta counties and employees of more than 140 businesses, including Chick-fil-A, Delta Air Lines, RaceTrac and UPS. Visit to learn more about opening an account at Delta Community or follow the Credit Union on Facebook at and Twitter at @DeltaCommunity.