Advertise With Us

GCPS home to 27 Georgia Scholars

A total of 151 graduating seniors from schools across Georgia have been recognized as 2016 Georgia Scholars, the Georgia Dept. of Education announced.

GCPS home to 27 Georgia Scholars

Through the Georgia Scholar program, the Department identifies and honors high school seniors who have achieved excellence in school and community life. The program is coordinated by the Department’s Excellence Recognition Office and through local coordinators in each public school system and in private schools throughout the state. Each Georgia Scholar receives a seal for his or her diploma. 

Students eligible for Georgia Scholar recognition are high school seniors who exhibit excellence in all phases of school life, in community activities, and in the home. Georgia Scholars are students who have carried exemplary course loads during the four years of high school; who performed excellently in all courses; who successfully participated in interscholastic events at their schools and in their communities; and who have assumed active roles in extracurricular activities sponsored by their schools.

Gwinnett students earning this state recognition include:

Brookwood HS – Jenny Choi

Central Gwinnett HS – Rebecca Thompson

Dacula HS – Chris Larkins and Desiree Moore

Grayson HS – Zach Beck, Madison Ives, Matt Miller, and Anna Scartz

Meadowcreek HS – Eric Martinez

Mill Creek HS – Steven Aceto, Ashton Carr, Brendon Darby, Anna Gerald, Hannah Lee, Ali Lopez, Sarah Lowry, Jonathan Moon, Becca Moss, and Hannah Petit

Mountain View HS – Tim Hood, Amy Jenkins, and Lauren Schuster

Norcross HS – Miranda Harmon

Parkview HS – Evann Brantley, Davis Orr, Julie Wang, and Grace Xu