Advertise With Us

Governor Nathan Deal installs 2014-2015 ACCG Board of Managers

Gwinnett County Chairman Charlotte Nash to Serve as ACCG First Vice President

ATLANTA – Governor Nathan Deal joined county officials from across the state at the 100th annual conference of ACCG, Georgia’s county association, held April 11-15 at the Savannah International Trade and Convention Center. In addition to giving the centennial keynote address, he also installed the association’s 2014-2015 Board of Managers. Gwinnett County Chairman Charlotte Nash was sworn in as ACCG First Vice President and will serve as part of the association’s 40-member Board of Managers for the next year. She is slated to become the association’s next president in April 2015.

ACCG is Georgia’s county association and works on behalf of county officials and their communities by providing public policy and legislative advocacy, leadership development, civic and community engagement initiatives, insurance and retirement programs that specialize in local government needs and other cost-saving programs. Formed in 1914 when county officials came together to help fund the state’s first highway department, ACCG today serves as a catalyst for advancing Georgia’s counties. As ACCG First Vice President, Chairman Nash will serve as a member of ACCG’s Executive Committee and work with the other officers and ACCG Executive Director Ross King to lead the association and guide policies. She is also charged as the Board liaison to the association’s membership services programs, including insurance, retirement, technical assistance and preferred partnerships. In addition, she will chair the ACCG Policy Council, which helps to guide the association’s advocacy efforts before the Georgia General Assembly and Congress.

“It is an honor to serve on the board of managers during this exciting time in ACCG’s history,” said Gwinnett County Board of Commissioners Chairman Charlotte Nash. “I look forward to working with my fellow officers President Kevin Little (Walton County Chairman), Second Vice President Tommy Lyon (Elbert County Chairman), and Third Vice President Allen Poole (Haralson County Chairman) to advance Georgia’s counties as ACCG enters its second century of service.” Chairman Nash was first elected to serve as Gwinnett County Chairman in a special election in March 2011 and ran unopposed in the 2012 primary and general elections. She has extensive experience in local government issues, having worked in Gwinnett County government for more than 25 years, as well as serving as president of a consulting firm specializing in governmental public strategy and management. She was first named to the ACCG Board of Managers in 2012 as an At-Large Representative.

“The ACCG Board of Managers is comprised of individuals with a passion for public service. They show a willingness to serve not only as a leader in their own community but also as a leader among their peers by serving their association,” said ACCG Executive Director Ross King. “Chairman Nash is a recognized leader in our state and will provide a strong and respected voice on behalf of counties on legislative issues this year.” Other county leaders that will serve on the 2014-2015 Board of Managers include:


ACCGPresident: Kevin Little, Walton County Chairman

ACCG First Vice President: Charlotte Nash, Gwinnett County Chairman

ACCG Second Vice President: Tommy Lyon, Elbert County Chairman

ACCG Third Vice President: Allen Poole, Haralson County Chairman


Ross King, ACCG Executive Director


1ST District Representative Steve Taylor, Bartow County Sole Commissioner

2nd District Representative Edwin Nix, White County Commissioner

3rd District Representative Joan Garner, Fulton County Commissioner

4th District Representative Sandi Allen, Heard County Commissioner

5TH District Representative Billy Pittard, Oglethorpe County Chairman

6TH District Representative Janie Reid, Putnam County Commissioner

7th District Representative Ron Cross, Columbia County Chairman

8TH District Representative Harry Lange, Harris County Chairman

9TH District Representative James “Boot” Thomas, Wayne County Chairman

10TH District Representative Lamar Hudgins, Dougherty County Commissioner

11TH District Representative Melissa Hughes, Tift County Commissioner

12th District Representative Helen Stone, Chatham County Commissioner


Bruce Huff, Columbus-Muscogee County Councilor


· David Austin, Paulding County Chairman

· Johnny Davis, Jefferson County Commissioner

· Kathie Gannon, DeKalb County Commissioner

· Terrell Hudson, Dooly County Chairman

· Jimmy Kitchens, Coffee County Chairman


· Mike Berg, Dawson County Chairman (also ACCG Immediate Past President)

· Billy Croker, Polk County Commissioner

· Melvin Davis, Oconee County Chairman

· James Ham, Monroe County Commissioner

· Benjamin Hayward, Mitchell County Chairman

· Tom McMichael, Houston County Commissioner

· O.D. Netter, Ben Hill County Commissioner

· Lamar Paris, Union County Sole Commissioner

· Clinton Perry, Taylor County Chairman


Georgia Self-Insurance Workers’ Compensation Fund:

Frederick Favors, McDuffie County Commissioner

Group Health Benefits Program:

Mike Mulcare, Douglas County Commissioner

Interlocal Risk Management Agency:

Charles Newton, McDuffie County Chairman

Defined Contribution Fund Board of Trustees:

Rick Muggridge, Lee County Chairman Pension Fund Board of Trustees: L.B. ‘Buzz’ Ahrens, Cherokee County Chairman


Bill NeSmith, Sumter/Dooly County Attorney

Joey Brown, Liberty County Manager

Barbara Sanders, DeKalb County Clerk