Advertise With Us

Gwinnett Medical Center Foundation recognizes compassion, leadership with annual awards

Honorees received awards at the annual gala

Gwinnett Medical Center (GMC) Foundation recently announced multiple award winners at the annual gala, held recently at the Infinite Energy Center in Duluth.

The awards, presented annually, recognize those contributors and a hospital employee who has made significant contributions in the areas of leadership and compassion.  

GMC Foundation Board Chairwoman Tammy Shumate announcing ambitious campaignGMC Foundation Board Chairwoman Tammy Shumate announcing an ambitious campaign“While technology and equipment are exceptionally important in achieving good health, what we’ve found to be critical are the people affiliated with GMC,” said Jason Chandler, president of Gwinnett Medical Center Foundation. “Every day, I’m humbled by the tireless efforts of our community leaders and employees who strive to continually improve the patient experience, both directly and indirectly.”

The following are the awards and recipients announced:

•The Desai Compassionate Care Award is the result of a donation from Dr. Jay & Rekha Desai.  The award recognizes an associate for their contributions to compassionate care to patients served by GMC.  This year’s winner is Randy Vaughn, a specialty technician in the Children’s Emergency Center in Lawrenceville.

•The Physician Champion Award recognizes exceptional physicians, who specifically champion the fundraising efforts of the Foundation in support of the mission of GMC.  Dr. Leslie Leigh, neonatologist, is this year’s recipient.

•The Distinguished Service Award was created to honor those individuals who have consistently demonstrated extraordinary commitment, dedication, and service to GMC and our community. Its purpose is to serve as a tribute to exemplary Foundation volunteers who have donated their wealth, work and wisdom to better our community.  Paige Havens is this year’s award winner.  

GMC Foundation President Jason Chandler
GMC Foundation President Jason Chandler
•The Legacy Award is a special tribute to those who have continuously devoted leadership, time and resources to make a transformational and lasting impact on GMC.  Recipients of this award have created a legacy that will continue to benefit patients and their families for many years to come. This year’s honoree is The Sport of Giving, led by Sheila Stevens, Lynn Roberts, and Kristen Sapp 

The GMC Foundation, incorporated in 1990 (fiscal year), supports GMC by funding programs, services, and capital expansion projects through charitable contributions. As a private not-for-profit 501(c)(3), the Foundation enables people to give to strengthen GMC’s hospital system.