Gwinnett County residents can get a good dose of history at no charge by visiting the Yellow River Post Office Park and the restored Nash-Hudson Home on 3519 Five Forks Trickum Road SW, Lilburn, open daylight hours unless posted otherwise.
The five-acre passive park not only includes the original post office and farmhouse, but it also features a barn and wash house (circa 20th Century), well, ravine overlook, picnic area, restrooms, and 0.3-mile non-paved walking trail. Visitors can tour the farmstead grounds on a short loop. Limited parking is available.
The two-story farmhouse was moved from across the street to the post office site in 2021 and restored on the property. The house was built around 1879 by Thomas Hudson, Sr. in the architectural style of Plantation Plain, utilizing mortise and tenon construction techniques. According to the Gwinnett Environmental and Heritage Center, these structures are examples of vernacular architecture, traditional techniques passed down through the generations.
Living on the property with his wife and eight children, William built a one-story frame farmhouse, barn, and blacksmith shop. Tending to animals around the barn, egg gathering, and tool repair were the family’s activities.
As the children grew older, the land was subdivided to them, as they built their own houses on the property, a typical pattern of farm life in the area.
“The Hudson-Nash property is significant as a mid-nineteenth century farm and commercial property,” according to the National Register of Historic Places.
For more information, call 770-904-3500 or visit gwinnettparks.com.