Advertise With Us

Senator Johnny Isakson installs 2015-2016 ACCG Board of Managers

Senator Johnny Isakson installs 2015-2016 ACCG Board of Managers
Gwinnett County Chairman Charlotte Nash to Serve as ACCG President

ATLANTA, Ga. – Senator Johnny Isakson joined county officials from across the state at the 101st annual conference of ACCG, Georgia’s county association, held April 17 – 20 at the Savannah International Trade and Convention Center. 

In addition to giving one of the conference’s keynote addresses, he also installed the association’s 2015-2016 Board of Managers. Gwinnett County Chairman Charlotte Nash was sworn in as ACCG President and will lead the association’s 40-member Board of Managers for the next year.  

ACCG is Georgia’s county association and works on behalf of county officials and their communities by providing public policy and legislative advocacy, leadership development, civic and community engagement initiatives, insurance and retirement programs that specialize in local government needs and other cost-saving programs. Formed in 1914 when county officials came together to help fund the state’s first highway department, ACCG today serves as a catalyst for advancing Georgia’s counties. 

As ACCG President, Chairman Nash will work with ACCG Executive Director Ross King and the Board of Managers to lead the association and guide policies over the next year.  During this time, ACCG will be consolidating two of its offices and moving to 191 Peachtree Tower in Atlanta, completing the course design work for the ACCG Lifelong Learning Academy, working with the state to implement the new transportation law passed during the General Assembly, expanding the programs of the Civic Affairs Foundation.  In addition, the Board will continue work on its recently updated strategic plan, which focuses on increasing county efficiencies, enhancing continuing education offerings and fostering strong relationships between counties and the state and federal government.

“I am honored and humbled to serve as president as we enter the second century in ACCG’s history,” said Gwinnett County Board of Commissioners Chairman Charlotte Nash. “I look forward to working with my fellow officers First Vice President Tommy Lyon (Elbert County Chairman), Second Vice President Allen Poole (Haralson County Chairman) and Third Vice President Harry Lange (Harris County Chairman) as we continue our efforts to advance Georgia counties.” 

Chairman Nash was first elected to serve as Gwinnett County Chairman in a special election in March 2011 and ran unopposed in the 2012 primary and general elections.  She has extensive experience in local government issues, having worked in Gwinnett County government for more than 25 years, as well as serving as president of a consulting firm specializing in governmental public strategy and management.  She was first named to the ACCG Board of Managers in 2012 as an At-Large Representative.   
“The ACCG Board of Managers is comprised of individuals with a passion for public service. They show a willingness to serve not only as a leader in their own community but also as a leader among their peers by serving their statewide association,” said ACCG Executive Director Ross King. “Chairman Nash is a recognized leader in Georgia and will provide a strong and respected voice on behalf of counties as our president during her year of service.” 

Other county leaders that will serve on the 2015-2016 Board of Managers include:


ACCG President:  
Charlotte Nash, Gwinnett County Chairman

ACCG First Vice President:  
Tommy Lyon, Elbert County Chairman

ACCG Second Vice President:  
Allen Poole, Haralson County Chairman

ACCG Third Vice President:  
Harry Lange, Harris County Chairman

Ross King, ACCG Executive Director

1ST District Representative 
Steve Taylor, Bartow County Sole Commissioner

2nd District Representative 
Edwin Nix, White County Commissioner

3rd District Representative
Joan Garner, Fulton County Commissioner

4th District Representative
Nancy Thrash, Lamar County Commissioner

5TH District Representative 
Billy Pittard, Oglethorpe County Chairman

6TH District Representative
Daylon Martin, Jones County Commissioner

7th District Representative 
Sistie Hudson, Hancock County Chairman

8th District Representative 
Randy Howard, Sumter County Chairman

9th District Representative 
James “Boot” Thomas, Wayne County Chairman

10th District Representative 
Roger Lane, Seminole County Commissioner

11th District Representative 
Melissa Hughes, Tift County Commissioner

12th District Representative
Helen Stone, Chatham County Commissioner

Bruce Huff, Columbus-Muscogee County Councilor


David Austin, Paulding County Chairman
Johnny Davis,
Jefferson County Commissioner 
Kathie Gannon, DeKalb County Commissioner
Terrell Hudson, Dooly County Chairman
Jimmy Kitchens, Coffee County Chairman

Mike Berg, Dawson County Chairman 
Melvin Davis, Oconee County Chairman
James Ham, Monroe County Commissioner 
Benjamin Hayward, Mitchell County Chairman
Kevin Little, Walton County Chairman
Tom McMichael, Houston County Commissioner
O.D. Netter, Ben Hill County Commissioner
Lamar Paris, Union County Sole Commissioner
Clinton Perry, Taylor County Chairman

James Ham, Monroe County Commissioner
Richard Oden, Rockdale County Chairman

Georgia Self-Insurance Workers’ Compensation Fund:

Frederick Favors, McDuffie County Commissioner

Group Health Benefits Program:
Mike Mulcare, Douglas County Commissioner

Interlocal Risk Management Agency:
Charles Newton, McDuffie County Chairman

Defined Contribution Fund Board of Trustees:
Rick Muggridge, Lee County Chairman

Pension Fund Board of Trustees:
L.B. ‘Buzz’ Ahrens, Cherokee County Chairman

Christian Henry, Morgan County Attorney
Bryan Rogers, Laurens County Manager
Jane Greathouse, Oconee County Clerk

For more information on ACCG, go to