Advertise With Us

The Gwinnett Roadrunner – On The Run April 2015 (2)

The Gwinnett Roadrunner -
On The Run April 2015
By Mary Frazier Long


•US Presidents born in April: Thomas Jefferson born April 13, 1743; James Buchanan born April 23, 1791; Ulysses Grant born April 27, 1822; James Monroe, born April 28, 1758.

•President Abraham Lincoln was shot in Ford’s Theater on April 14, 1865, he died on April 15, 1865.

•President Franklin Roosevelt died in Warm Springs, Georgia on April 12, 1945.

•The Civil War began at Fort Sumter, S.C. on April 12, 1861.

•Paul Revere made his famous ride on April 18, 1775.

•General Robert E. Lee surrendered the Confederate Army to General Ulysses S. Grant on April 9, 1865.

•The observance of April Fool’s Day began in France after the adoption of a reformed calendar by Charles IX in 1564. Up to that time the New Year celebration began March 21 and ended April 1. When New Year’s Day was changed some people still celebrated it on April 1. Those people came to be known as April Fools when the custom of fooling people on the first day of April became popular.


The annual luncheon honoring STAR teachers and students was held on March 6, 2015 and the five students and teachers honored were: Ryan Chen of Brookwood with teacher Chris Michael, Vikram Varadarajan of Duluth with teacher Geri Flanery, Katie Irwin of GAC with teacher Donna Love, Ben Brosofsky of Hebron with teacher Lizzy Sutton and Sida Tang of Parkview with teacher Phil Heier. 

The Norcross girls basketball team played a great game at the Class AAAAAA state championship game against McEachern. The game played in Macon on March 7 was a close one with Norcross going down by 2 points in the 52/50 end score as McEachern scored two foul shots to win. Norcross girls played a great game. 

This anniversary celebration was held on Sunday March 8, 2015 at the Gwinnett History Museum. The first president of the organization, Hank Segars, was the presenter. Hank spearheaded the organization of the Round Table and he has authored several books dealing with the War Between the States. Past presidents are Hank Segars, Thomas Lanford, Mike Hammond and Steve Narrie. Steve Narrie is the current president and he has served in that capacity for a total of 15 years. The Roundtable meets on the second Sunday of each month at the Gwinnett History Museum in Lawrenceville. Meeting time is 3 p m.

was held at the Grayson High School on March 21, 2015.  President of the association, Susan Gerard, welcomed over 100 alumni to the event and Susan led the group in singing Happy Birthday to Runelle Foster, Class of 1925 as she celebrated her 109th birthday. Susan also read excerpts from a diary kept in 1946 by Pat Foster. Grayson High School principal Dana Pugh gave a report on the current high school which has 2738 students and 162 teachers for the school year 2014/15. Scholarships were awarded to Grayson High School Seniors Nicolas Bernan and Rachal Lott. Members of the Scholarship Committee are Edith Kemp, Becky Page and Eugene Berry. Former Grayson School teachers Jane Alexander, Al Herndon, Jack Britt and Mary Long were recognized. The nominating committee reported that the current officers of the association will retain their offices for the 2015/16 year: President Susan Gerard, Vice President Linda Turner, Secretary Drusilla Franklin and Treasurer Jo Knight Puckett. The nest Grayson Alumni Reunion will be held on March 26, 2016.

GWINNETT COUNTY RETIRED EDUCATORS ASSOCIATION MARCH MEETING was held in Lawrenceville at the Chew Restaurant. Speaker at the meeting was Donald Singer a history professor and Director of the Office of Dual Enrollment at Georgia Gwinnett College. Donald Singer is one of the leading authorities in the nation on dual enrollment and early college initiatives.